1. This Board Rocks has been split into two separate forums.

The Preps Forum section was moved here to stand on its own. All member accounts are the same here as they were at ThisBoardRocks.

The rest of ThisBoardRocks is located at: CarolinaPanthersForum.com

Welcome to the new Preps Forum!

Dismiss Notice

A Unified State Tournament?

Discussion in 'Boys Basketball' started by The Warden, Mar 9, 2008.

1. The Warden

The Warden Full Access Member

Now that the Regionals have concluded and the regional champions have been crowned and will anticipate their forthcoming state championship games, I've always wondered what it would be like to have a final state tournament and crown an overall, unified State Champion. I started playing around with this idea for a while and this is what I came up with. Basically, the season is extended by two games and it gives a team to match up against the very best from all classes.

Tournament Qualification
    The way a team will qualify for this will be through the normal procedures through the classifications with each team competing throughout the conference season and through the conference tournaments, if applicable. This all to determine conference seeds & wild cards for the sectionals. The sectionals and regionals would remain the same. Instead of the regional champions meeting in each classification's state title game, the regional champions would culminate in an 8-team, placement style tournament with each team guaranteed to play three games to end the season. Instead of being one and done, teams could play again but wouldnt be able to win the state title if they lost.

Tournament Venues