1. This Board Rocks has been split into two separate forums.

The Preps Forum section was moved here to stand on its own. All member accounts are the same here as they were at ThisBoardRocks.

The rest of ThisBoardRocks is located at: CarolinaPanthersForum.com

Welcome to the new Preps Forum!

Dismiss Notice

Did ya'll see this from Utah youth baseball?

Discussion in 'Baseball' started by EastOfRaleigh, Aug 12, 2006.

1. EastOfRaleigh

EastOfRaleigh Full Access Member

2. teachem

teachem Junior Member

Simply a "gutless" decision by a Little League coach. It's just Little League, and you have to realize that the poor sick little boy should never have to be put in that situation. He should have told his pitcher to pitch to the best hitter and take his chances. I am a high school coach and not a Little League coach, and maybe that is why I think that too much importance is put on the winning/losing of Little League games. Just my opinion..

3. Braves

Braves Watauga Pioneers #6

You see some of the worst things happen at the LL level. The umpire said he was very upset about it, well, he could have taken control of this situation by squeezing the strike zone so tight, that the kid would have made an automatic walk...and please, don't lecture me about the integrity of the game, it's not like an umpire has ever squeezed a strike zone before :)

Last edited: Aug 13, 2006
  4. Mudcat

Mudcat gone

The fact that everybody bats tells you that this league has tried to take the emphasis away from winning and losing. The coach who won the game forgot this fact. The classy thing for him to do, if he didn't want to pitch to the best hitter, would have been to walk the next 2 batters. In my years of experience though I have found that the majority of rec ball coaches in the younger age groups take things way to seriously. The more that kids have fun at the younger ages, the more they will want to play when they are older.

5. TheOriole

TheOriole Full Access Member

6. blademan